Brewster County has four competitive races

BREWSTER COUNTY – Brewster County voters have four competitive races to keep an eye on in the upcoming election, including two county-wide posts.

County Judge and County Treasurer top the local ballot, while County Commissioner Precinct 2 and Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 are also up for grabs in the November 6 general election.

One-term County Judge Eleazor R. Cano, a Democrat, faces Republican challenger Lori Drawe-Holguin, the 83rd State Judicial District court administrator.

In the treasurer’s contest, it’s between Republican Donna Nunley, the current assistant treasurer, and Democrat Julie Morton, the county judge’s administrative assistant and county grant writer. Appointed incumbent Babete Mann isn’t seeking election. County Commissioner Precinct 2 will be a race between Republican Hank Mast and Democrat Sara Allen Colando, as current Commissioner Hugh Garrett isn’t seeking re-election. The Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 contest features three candidates of which two are write-ins. The Republican Party candidate is lawyer Bob Steele. The write-ins are Eva Garcia Milan, a longtime resident and Jerry Sotello, the former Precinct 1 JP from 1999 to 2014. Current JP Gilbert Valenzuela isn’t seeking re-election. The other five local races on the ballot are uncontested members of the Democratic Party: District Clerk Jo Ann Salgado, County Clerk Berta Rios- Martinez, Commissioner Precinct 4 Commissioner Mike “Coach” Pallanez, JP Precinct 2 Jim Burr in south county, and JP Precinct 3 Susana M. Gonzalez of Marathon.