No formal candidates in Presidio city, school elections

Noticias Breves

PRESIDIO, BREWSTER counties – The candidate filing window remains open for the Saturday, May 4 city council and school board elections across the area.

Candidates have until 5pm Friday, February 15 to sign up for office.

Application packets are available at the respective offices, listed below, for both cities and schools.


The posts of Mayor John Ferguson and council members Isela Nuñez and Victor Hernandez are up for election this year, and it has been confirmed that Mayor Ferguson has picked up an application packet for re-election.

Nuñez resigned from the council last week, leaving that seat open as well. At the time of publication, it was unclear whether the council would appoint someone to fill the vacant post.

Both mayoral and council terms are held for two years, and the top two vote-getters in the council race, who are elected at large, will take office.


School board President Ethel Barriga and fellow trustees Yvonne Spencer, Fidel Baeza and Hugo Ramos are up for re-election this year.

Spencer was appointed to the post following the resignation of Carlos Nieto, who has pleaded guilty to a public corruption charge.

As of yesterday, it was confirmed that no one had filed an application process, either for election or re-election.

Trustees are elected at large, and the top three vote-getters in the race will take office.

Presidio school board members serve four-year terms.


Mayor Anne Marie Nafziger and council members Brit Webb and Irma Salgado currently hold positions up for election.

It has been confirmed that Nafziger has filed for re-election, while Webb has picked up an application but has yet to file.

As always, city elections are non-partisan, and applicants need only specify which place they seek to be on the ballot, mayor or council.

The mayor and council posts are for two-year terms, and in council races with a field of candidates, the top two vote-getters will take office this year.


According to Superintendent Oscar Aguero, no application packets had been picked up and none filed, as of yesterday, Wednesday, January 23.

Three school board members are up for re-election this year: Mark Cash, place 5; newly appointed incumbent Shawn Brugette, place 6, and Teresa Villarreal Nuñez, place


Terms are held for three years, and trustees run by place but are elected at-large.


As with every odd year, three city positions are up grabs this cycle.

Council members in Wards 1, 3 and 5 – currently held by Maria Curry, Jim Fitzgerald, and Rick Stephens, respectively.

City Secretary Cynthia Salas was out of the office this week and unavailable to confirm whether anyone had picked up an application packet or filed for election/re-election.

Applicants must live in the ward represented and candidates can file ballot applications with Salas at Alpine City Hall.

No fee is required to apply, however, candidates must appoint a treasurer and report campaign contributions to the state of Texas.

For questions or concerns regarding the candidate application packet and process, contact Salas at 432-837-3301.


Two board positions will be open for election this cycle; Single Member District 5, currently held by Justin Cross, and Single Member District 7, currently held by Mary McCallister. Marsha Roach of Alpine ISD has confirmed that McCallister has filed for re-election, and as of yesterday, was the only candidate to apply. Candidates should file a ballot application with Secretary to the Superintendent Marsha Roach at the Alpine ISD administration building located at 704 West Sul Ross Ave. There is no fee required to apply, however, candidates must appoint a treasurer and report campaign contributions to the state. For any and all filing packet inquiries, instructions, forms and details about the application process, please contact Roach at 432-837-7700, option 4.