Vote early through Friday, Election Day Tuesday

County judge, Presidio commissioner on ballot

PRESIDIO COUNTY – Early voting continues through Friday, and election day is Tuesday, May 22 in the Presidio County Democratic Party primary runoff election.

Voting will take place from 8am to 5pm today and Friday at the Presidio County Courthouse in Marfa and the Presidio County Courthouse Annex in Presidio. On election day, polls will be open from 7am-7pm at the annex and at the Marfa fire station. In the race for Presidio County judge, incumbent Judge Cinderela Guevara and Presidio Mayor John Ferguson will appear on a county-wide ballot.

Guevara led the primary election with 567 votes – or 38 percent of the electorate – while Ferguson received 513 votes. A third candidate, Dina Jo Losoya Marquez polled 380 votes. A runoff was called since none of the candidates received more than 50 percet of the vote.

A second runoff election – in south county only – for another county office will see Presidio police officer Jose Cabezuela and Presidio resident Edgar Ramirez vying for the Precinct 3 Commissioner’s seat, which was left vacant last year following the resignation of embattled Commissioner Lorenzo Hernandez, who was arrested and indicted on federal felony bribery and public corruption charges.

Cabezuela earned 119 votes – or 49 percent of the precinct’s voters – against Ramierez’s 111 votes. A third candidate, Roberto Lujan, took enough votes to force a runoff.

The winners of the runoff election will be sworn into office in January 2019, as there will be no Republican challengers for the November 6 General Election.

Also on the primary runoff ballot are San Antonio-based politicians Gina Ortiz Jones and Rick Treviño, who are seeking their party’s nomination to challenge Republican U.S. 23rd Congressional District Representative Will Hurd in November.

Democrats will also be able to cast their votes in the gubernatorial race, which sees former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez and businessman Andrew White running to challenge Texas Governor Gregg Abbott in November.

There are no runoffs for statewide Republican candidates.