Early voting under way in crowded state senate race

FAR WEST TEXAS – Early voting is underway for former state Sen. Carlos Uresti’s District 19 vacant seat, starting Monday, July 16 and running through Friday, July 27. Election Day is Tuesday, July 31. Vying for the political post are four Democrats, three Republicans, and a Libertarian candidate. On the Democratic Party ticket, Pete Gallego of Alpine, Tomas Uresti – Carlos’s older brother – of San Antonio, Roland Gutierrez of San Antonio, and Charlie Urbina Jones of Poteet are seeking the office. Peter Flores of Pleasanton, Jesse Alaniz of San Antonio and Carlos Antonio Raymond of San Antonio are the Republican Party candidates. Tony Valdivia is running as a Libertarian Party member. After being found guilty of 11 felonies, Carlos Uresti was forced to resign and a special election to replace Uresti in his district was announced by Gov. Greg Abbott last month. Senate District 19, which has voted reliably Democratic, stretches from San Antonio to the Texas-Mexico Border and consists of 17 counties, including Brewster. Gallego, a one-term congressman, longtime former state representative, and Alpine native, and Gutierrez, a state representative, are considered to be the front-runners in this race. All registered voters in all Brewster County precincts may cast their ballots early at the Val Clark Beard Complex, 203 North 7th Street in Alpine, Monday through Friday, July 16-20, and Monday through Friday, July 23-27, from 8am-5pm on all days. Remote early voting for Precinct 3 will be available at the Marathon Community Center, on Tuesday July 17, from 11am-4pm. Remote early voting for those in Precincts 5, 6 and 7 will be available at Big Bend National Park in the Panther Junction conference room on Wednesday July 18, from noon – 5pm, and at the J.W. “Red” Pattillo Community Center on Highway 118 in Study Butte on Thursday, July 19, from 10am-4pm. On election day, polls will be open from 7am-7pm, and voters must cast their ballots in which they are registered. Precincts 1, 2, 4, and 8 will votes at the Val Clark Beard Complex. Precinct 3 voters cast ballots at the Marathon Community Center, and Precinct 5, 6, and 7 will vote at the J.W. “Red” Pattillo Community Center. At the polls, voters must show a valid photo ID. To see acceptable forms of voter ID, visit votetexas.gov. Sample ballots may be viewed at brewstercountytx.com. Ballots are identical for all precincts.