Special state senate runoff election announced

Noticias Breves

FAR WEST TEXAS – Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has announced the date for the runoff for the special election for State Senate District 19 to replace convicted former state Sen. Carlos Uresti who was found guilty of 11 felonies, including securities fraud and money laundering.

The runoff election will be Tuesday, September 18 with early voting beginning on September 10 and ending on the September 14.

The run-off pits Republican Pete Flores, a former game warden, against Democrat and Alpine native Pete Gallego, a former congressmen and longtime state lawmaker. They were the top two finishers in the first round of the July 31 special election, which included six other candidates.

The senate district includes Brewster County and numerous counties east to San Antonio and the Texas Lower Valley.

Brewster County is responsible for the costs of both elections, which are an unbudgeted expense this year, according to Brewster County Election Administrator Lora Nussbaum.