Representative Poncho Nevárez appointed chairman of Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee

Austin, TX — Today Speaker Dennis Bonnen announced committee assignments on the House Floor. Representative Poncho Nevárez was appointed Chairman of Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee. Representative Nevárez previously served as Vice-Chair from 2015 through January 2019.

The Committee has jurisdiction over law enforcement, prevention of crime and the apprehension of criminals. This also includes defense of the state and nation, including terrorism response and disaster mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery. In addition, Homeland Security oversees the following Texas agencies: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, the Department of Public Safety, the Texas Division of Emergency Management, the Emergency Management Council, the Texas Forensic Science Commission, the Texas Military Preparedness Commission, the Texas Private Security Board, the Commission on State Emergency Communications, and the Texas Crime Stoppers Council.

Representative Nevárez issued the following statement: “It is a tremendous honor bestowed on House District 74 to be appointed Chairman of Homeland Security and Public Safety by Speaker Bonnen. This committee is vital to the security of Texas and I am proud to represent our border community. I remain committed to maintaining my commonsense approach to problem solving and taking on the task of keeping us safe.” Nevárez added, “Thank you to the Speaker and his staff for their diligence in allowing me to represent the constituents of House District 74 and more importantly, the state of Texas.”