Challengers make a contest for Presidio City Council races

PRESIDIO – , BREWSTER counties – The candidate filing deadline is 5pm Friday for folks seeking or retaining office in area school board and city elections.

Persons may apply at the offices of the respective political subdivisions.


Longtime Mayor John Ferguson has filed for re-election for another two-year term.

The offices of two council members are also up for election in May, those held by Victor Hernandez and Isela Nuñez. Nuñez recently tendered her resignation.

Filing for the two places on council are Rogelio Zubia, Jeffrey Roberts, and Irvin Olivas.

City council places are elected at large, with the top vote-getters taking office, so it looks like we have contested races here, folks.


Presidio school board president Ethel Barriga has filed for re-election for another four years, the only incumbent or political newcomer to file for four places on the board of trustees up for election this year.

Also up for election this year are trustees Fidel Baeza, Hugo Ramos, and Yvonne Spencer, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Carlos Nieto, who has pleaded guilty to a public corruption bribery charge.


The three incumbents up for election on the Marfa ISD board of trustees this week filed for re-election, according to Superintendent Oscar Aguero.

But Place 7 incumbent Teresa Villarreal Nuñez has picked up a challenger, Marfa EMS Paramedic Jesse Peña for the three-year term.

Meanwhile, Place 5 incumbent Mark Cash and appointed incumbent Shawn Brugette also filed for re-election and election, respectively, as Brugette was appointed in January to fill the expiring term of Frank “Buddy” Kinght, who is now a Presidio County Commissioner. Those places are also for terms of three years.

While Marfa school board members are elected at large, they run for places on the panel.


Mayor Ann Marie Nafziger is seeking a second two-year term in office and is being challenged by city council member Manny Baeza.

Current council members Irma Salgado and Brit Webb who are up for election this year have filed for election.