Community mobilizes to register voters ahead of the March primaries 

TRI-COUNTY — Local volunteers have launched a concerted local effort to register eligible voters ahead of upcoming elections.

As the March 2022 primary elections loom, the Tri-County Voter Promoters organization is quickly mobilizing to register voters in the area before the January 31 deadline. To date, volunteers are scheduled to register voters from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. January 7 at the Marfa Post Office, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. January 7 at the Porters in Alpine across from True Value, from noon to 4 p.m. January 10 at the Terlingua Post Office, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. January 19 at the Panther Junction Visitor Center in Big Bend National Park and from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. January 21 at the Family Crisis Center in Terlingua Ghost Town. More voter registration events will be announced in the future. 

The group will host an upcoming meeting for those interested in getting involved at 5 p.m. January 11 at the Alpine Public Library. The meeting will also be broadcast via Zoom. 

“The 2022 elections are critically important. They will determine control of the Texas Legislature and the U.S. Congress at a pivotal moment in our country’s history. Everyone needs to vote. And we want to make sure they do,” wrote organization member Roy Morey in an email. 

Voter Promoters are seeking volunteers to operate voter registration tables, especially Spanish-speaking volunteers. Interested parties should contact Morey by phone (432) 426-0122 or by email [email protected]. There is also a need for more volunteers to undergo training on how to register voters — to sign up for an online deputy voter registration course, visit Voter promoters will also mail and distribute print materials providing information on deadlines for registration, ballot by mail applications, early voting and more. 

The Big Bend Sentinel previously reported on candidates running for public office in the March 2022 primary elections in Presidio and Brewster counties. There were no additional updates in those counties after the final list of candidates was made available from the secretary of state’s office. In Jeff Davis County, where preliminary candidate filing results were previously unavailable, under the Republican Party incumbent Curtis Evans and opponent Graydon Hicks III, superintendent of Fort Davis ISD, are running for County Judge. 

Hicks has served as an educator in Marfa and Fort Davis and has been in his position as superintendent for the past eight years. Hicks announced his candidacy via social media, stating he believes the county has been mismanaged for years and hopes to increase accountability on the local level. 

“The county agendas have not been adequate and sufficient for the taxpayers of Jeff Davis County and have been lacking in proper reporting from the offices and departments of the county, including a proper assessment of county financials,” Hicks said in an interview with the Jeff Davis County Mountain Dispatch

Incumbents District/County Clerk Jennifer Wright, Treasurer Dawn Kitts and Justice of the Peace Mary Ann Luedecke are all running unopposed to serve another term. For the available County Commissioner Precinct 2 seat, Incumbent and Democrat Todd Jagger will run against Republican Roy Hurley. The County Commissioner Precinct 4 position will be a race between incumbent and Democrat Albert Miller, who has held the position since 2007, and Republican Royce Laskoskie. 

Statewide, running to fill the Justice Place 2 position on the Texas 8th Court of Appeals, which represents the Western region of the state including Brewster, Presidio and Jeff Davis counties, are Democrats Lisa Soto and Veronica Teresa Lerma and Republican incumbent Jeff Alley. 

Democratic State Rep. Eddie Morales Jr. filed for re-election to continue to serve Texas House District 74 which represents Brewster, Culberson, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Loving, Maverick, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell and Val Verde counties. Morales will run against Republican Katherine Parker. Democratic Sen. Cesar Blanco is running for re-election to serve Texas Senate District 29, which represents Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis and Presidio counties. Blanco will run against Republican Derek Zubeldia. Democratic Sen. Roland Gutierrez also officially filed for re-election to serve Texas Senate District 19, which includes Brewster County. Republican Robert Garza will run against Gutierrez.  

Candidates who are successful in the primary election will go on to the general election in November 2022, with elected officials finally taking office in January 2023.

To check your voter registration status, visit